WhatsApp, the world’s most widely used chat platform offers a fun experience to stay in touch with your family and friends. But for whatever reasons, you just feel enough and want to get rid of it. And if you wonder how to delete WhatsApp account then you’ve come to the right page.
Deleting WhatsApp account won’t give you a headache. Despite the simple and easy steps, it is important to understand what happens after you delete your WhatsApp account. Read on.
How to Delete WhatsApp Account in Few Steps
WhatsApp comes with a built-in delete button, which means you can delete the account from within the app. You can go to WhatsApp settings and delete your account from there. You will need to select a reason for why you delete the account.
To make it clearer, follow step-by-step instructions how to delete WhatsApp account below:
- Launch your WhatsApp.
- Tap More options with three vertical dots icon, select Settings.
- Choose Account and tap on Delete my account.
- Enter your mobile number in international format (+country code) and choose Delete my account.
- In the provided dropdown, select a reason for deleting your account.
- Tap on Delete My Account once again.
Your account is now successfully deleted. Your number is no longer registered on WhatsApp database and your message history will be erased. This action will also delete you from all WhatsApp groups.
What Happens When You Delete WhatsApp Account?
Please note that after you press delete button, the process cannot be deleted. Once your account is removed, you cannot regain access to the account in question. Not to mention this action can’t be reversed.
There are several things that happen when you remove your WhatsApp account, including:
1. Your Information Stays up to 90 Days
WhatsApp doesn’t immediately delete your information upon account deletion. Instead, it stays up to 90 days after the process in their backup storage. This storage is used to recover in case of software error or disaster. However, this information is not available to you.
2. Your Messages Aren’t Affected
Your account deletion doesn’t affect any messages that you sent to the groups or other contacts. Their copy of the messages stay on their chat list and WhatsApp doesn’t delete any of it. In other words, they can still read your messages.
3. Log Records are Stored
You should know that copies of some materials like log records may stay in WhatsApp database. These copies of information, however, are not associated to any personal identifier.
4. Google Drive Backup Is Removed
Another thing that happen when you remove your WhatsApp account is your Google Drive backup will be deleted. Whenever you hit Backup button, your conversations including text chats and media are uploaded to Google Drive. Once your account is deleted, the backup is deleted too.
This means you don’t have any access to the messages. Just in case you need a copy of the message, ask other users relating to you to export the chats via email.
Now that you know how to delete WhatsApp account and its consequences, you should be able to consider wisely before making a decision. Think before you regret.